Since its 2004 inception, the Governor’s Cup in Nevada has showcased the innovation and talents among a sample of the state’s top business and technology students. Though it was the first of its kind to start, this is no longer the case, as Arkansas and Oklahoma have gone on to play host to their own Governor’s Cup competitions. These collegiate entrepreneurial competitions mimic the process of market research, creating viable business plans and pitching concepts to potential investors.

Each year, thousands of dollars in prize money are awarded to first through third place in graduate and undergrad categories, along with a Lieutenant Governor’s Award for energy-related objectives that best employ renewable, clean or efficient energy technologies. Faculty awards are also handed out, and this year’s Faculty Advisors of the Year were Dr. Hans Rawhouser (University of Nevada, Las Vegas) and Krysta Bea Jackson (University of Nevada, Reno).

Governor’s Cup Nevada 2016 Schedule of Events

On April 13, 2016, finalists and semifinalists collected in Reno, at the Atlantis Casino Resort. During their scheduled time, students were allotted twenty minutes to present their business plan. Presentations were followed by fifteen-minute question and answer sessions between teams and the panel of judges. These two segments are open to the public at large. A brief feedback round occupied the last ten minutes of each group’s time slot.

The following evening, winners were announced at an awards dinner, also held at Atlantis, inside the Paradise Ballroom. Hugh D. “Chip” Evans, Jr., emceed the event, which kicked off at 5:30. Pre-sale tickets, starting at $50, were available through Sierra Nevada College. The purchase of corporate tables at different levels of sponsorship was an option for interested entities.

Donald W. Reynolds Governor’s Cup 2016 Nevada Winners


First Place – $25,000 – FRP Innovations – Pyrohalt – University of Nevada, Las Vegas

FRP Innovations developed a high-performing, non-toxic Flame Retardant Polymer treatment to protect against the devastating effects of fire. Initial testing proved that their polymer, PyroHalt, can be applied to textiles and fabric, and will not release harmful toxins when ignited, unlike chemical treatments currently on the market.

Team Captain – Jace Meier

Faculty Advisor – Angela Douglas

Second Place – $15,000 – MOCCs Technologies – University of Nevada, Reno

MOCCs Technologies utilizes advisors’ expansive knowledge on the subject of corrosion to improve upon existing technology and make various means of corrosion protection more environmentally sound. Their first contribution, Blue Sky Conversion Coating, is geared towards the aerospace industry. To date, this conception is the only formulation to replicate all corrosion-protective properties of hexavalent coatings, while integrating more environmentally friendly compounds.

Team Captain – David Rodriguez

Team Members – Zachary Karmoil

Faculty Advisor – Dr. Dev Chidambaram

Third Place – $10,000 – S3B Energy, Inc. – University of Nevada, Las Vegas

S3B Energy is a Nevada-based technology enterprise revolutionizing the energy storage market with Poseidon I, a solid-state sodium-battery utilizing sodium-rich anitperovskite (NaRAP) material. This improved technology produces a cost-effective, safe and environmentally sound solution to managing grid peak demands and capturing the increased generation of renewable energy.

Team Captain – Lucy Cantley

Team Members – Jan Von Herburt-Hewell, Christopher Wipple, Kenda Nayef

Faculty Advisor – Liz Lewis


First Place – $25,000 – TEKTOR – Sierra Nevada College

TEKTOR is an Incline Village, Nevada-based startup that has introduced CHAPERONE, a wearable electronic safety system designed to enhance safety measures at equine facilities. The system has three main components: electronic wristbands, a receiving data cloud unit, and a mobile app and computer management program. When used together, these components serve as a safety system, capable of tracking wristband locations and alerting users to potentially harmful situations.

Team Captain – Megan McClintock

Team Members – Marissa Hushaw, Lena Stroheker

Faculty Advisor – Tim Cohee

Second Place – $15,000 – Remmedy Nudge Water Bottle – University of Nevada, Las Vegas

Remmedy Nudge Water Bottle is a personal beverage storage solution that serves the dual purpose of storing pills and dispensing medication at pre-set times. The purpose is to serve as a dosage reminder and promote active lifestyles for those who are burdened with daily medication requirements.

Team Captain – Jailene Vasquez

Team Members – Helena Lagos

Faculty Advisor – Janet Runge

Third Place – $10,000 – Adler Dynamics – University of Nevada, Las Vegas

Adler Dynamics streamlines the use of drones and advanced analytical systems in the construction industry. Generated data assists project managers to stay under budget and on schedule.

Team Captain – Kyle Kimsey

Faculty Advisor – Dr. Hans Rawhouser

Lieutenant Governor’s Award (granted to the best energy-related business plan):

$10,000 – Warrior Adventure Rapport – Sierra Nevada College

Warrior Adventure Rapport is a wilderness therapy program catering to reducing PTSD episodes in veterans. The program consists of a day-long kayak-building effort, followed by a three-day reflective paddle.

Team Captain – Jason Maynez

Team Members – Gregory Gonzalez, Nicholas Galantowicz

Faculty Advisor – Tim Cohee

The first and second place undergraduate and graduate teams advanced to the Donald W. Reynolds Tri-State Collegiate Business Plan Competition, held on May 25-26 in Las Vegas, Nevada, at the Cosmopolitan Hotel. This invitation-only event collects all first and second place Governor’s Cup winners from Nevada, Arkansas and Oklahoma. This year, Nevada participants failed to claim a top prize, though all four teams did attend and present their business plans to teams of five judges.